Morning Trips

So, I have been slacking over here.  The thing is, I have had a lot of spare time at home, sometimes while waiting for the girls to get home, or while the weather is bad and we’re all staying cozy at the house, or while I am just waiting for pasta water to boil for lunch.  Plenty of opportunities to post in between doing the things I actually want to post about.  But every time I sit down with the intention of blogging I start reading other blogs and there goes an hour, or looking up pictures of nearby towns that I want to visit one of these sunny weekends, or reading Yelp reviews of restaurants in the city, which if you are me can be a huge time waster.  So no posts.  But I’m going to get back at it.  Okay?  Okay.  It’s a plan.

Because during the week I either pick up one of the girls I am looking after or meet one at the house anywhere from 1 to 2, I don’t have full days during the week to go on excursions.  It’s totally fine, because I just do morning trips, which have been nice too.  Boccadasse (the subject of my last post) was one of these morning trips, complete with seaside coffee and epic coastal views.  It is still my favorite place I have been so far around the city, but there have been some other good ones too in the past week.  Here’s a peek at a morning trip from this week…

Image

I really lucked out on the location of the location of the house where I am living.  As cool as it would be to live right on the edge of the sea or high up on a hill with panoramic views, I ended up being kind of in between the two.  It makes it fairly easy to get to both on foot, and really easy using public transport.  We are also pretty much in the center of the city, which extends much farther than I realized both ways down the coast.  This means we are near the historical center, lots of museums and shops, and the main port.  The other day I decided to hike up the hill from our house (and going “up” is serious business around here).  Over the weekend I had driven with my host family around the top edge of the part of the city where we live, where the densely packed houses end and forest and rolling hills begin.  They told me there were paths to walk around in the park up there, so I went to check it out.  By the time I got to the entrance to the park I was already pretty winded, so I stood for a little while in the sun and took in the view out over the city (pictured above).

Image

It was awesome to get up into the park and be able to see in both directions, both out toward the colorful city and glistening sea, and towards the green hills extending as far as I could see.

Image

Image

I found this little branch at the beginning of my walk and he became my photo shoot subject for the morning (:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

We had fun (:

After hiking a hillside trail for a little while I sat and took this view in, then headed back to the apartment to start boiling more pasta water.  It’s a daily thing.

Image

Hope you all are getting to go on some small and special adventures!

xo, mason.

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

