hello vienna

Image

I’m in Vienna! I took a 17 hour bus ride here from Paris and arrived early in the morning on Monday, killed some time in a coffee shop, and then met up with my friend and visited the city for the rest of the day with her.  And today, not much to report, because I literally slept ALL day!  I guess I needed to catch up after that bus ride!  Now I am trying to figure out when I should go back to bed so my sleep pattern doesn’t get too messed up.  I figured I should write a blog post and see how I felt after that (:

Image

There are still sooo many Paris spots and adventures that I want to share with you guys, so expect to see some posts with older stories mixed in with the new ones.  It is really amazing how familiar Paris and Neuilly-Plaisance (the suburb where I lived) became in such a short time.  I know that there are still so many places in the city and surrounding areas that I haven’t discovered yet, but it feels like a city I can come back to and know.  Like, if you want any Paris recommendations, hit me up! (:

 

Despite being extremely long and not very restful, the bus ride here to Vienna was very beautiful, and I got to see a sunset in France and a sunrise in Austria, which was amazing.  I didn’t get any pictures out the bus window that do the countryside views justice, but it really was gorgeous, with huge fields, vividly green hills, and beautiful autumn trees.  I arrived in Vienna early in the morning and then took the underground to where I was supposed to meet my friend.  I still had several hours before she was going to get there, so I walked around the area a little bit before finding a cafe where I hunkered down for a few hours.  It was really a funny place, with tons of fake flowers, gold accents, marble, and old couples smoking cigarettes.  I had a delicious foamy coffee, read, journaled, and listened to the completely unfamiliar Austrian words bouncing around the room.  It was a wonderful first few hours in Vienna, sadly interuppted when I had to go into a McDonald’s and buy a yogurt so I could use their wifi to get in touch with my friend!  Luckily, I met up with her soon after, and we spent the rest of the day walking around the city, going into a few of the numerous churches, schools, and theatres in the city, eating traditional Austrian cake, and browsing a bookstore until it was dark outside.  I think I will like this city (:

Image

Image

Image

Image

xo, mason

5 thoughts on “hello vienna

  1. Chris says:

    So glad you are blogging Mason. It is a wonderful gift to all of us to hear about your adventures, see your pictures and celebrate your independence. I loved Vienna, and thought it to be very charming. I think I spent Christmas there.

  2. Lois says:

    Gorgeous photos, Mason! And along with the adventures you have and the memories you create, you are going to have SO much fun in the future reading novels that take place in Paris and Vienna! 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    Mason…you are so very articulate, esp. with so little rest! Thank you SO much for your very descriptive journey and really lovely photos! I, as a mother, a friend, am so very proud of you for your confidence and openness to these new amazing experiences! I wish you well and continued safety, as well as new friendships and all that you were anticipating, to unfold in the richest of possibilities. ❤

  4. Rosie says:

    AAAAAAHHHHH!!!!! SO PRETTY!! LIKE YOUR FACE!!! LOVE YOU!!

  5. Holly says:

    This is fantastic, Mason Bee! I especially love that shot of the Vienna city top with the zig zag roof… amazing. Seeing the photo of the corner shop with the flowers and vegetables was so classic European – and so different than the U.S. — like, imagine convenience stores that actually have beautiful real food spilling into the street. It’s been a good harvest at the farm – you should see the piles of squash!

Leave a Reply

